Bat Boy and his Biggies

Summer time is a good time around here. We have a lot of fun. These days, the fun is really in the hands of Blueberry and his biggies. While Songbird is Ecuador (and she’s doing great, btw!) and we miss her A TON, we are making our own fun here. Case in point, Waffles is a heckuva great big brother. He’s kind, gentle, and fun loving. Tonight I turned around when I heard, “Hey Mommy, look, I have a bat brother!”  I turned around to find Blueberry hanging perfectly still while shouting out, “Mommy, bats hang upside down and only come out at night!” Waffles himself is hangin’ around this summer until he leaves for Colorado State University – Ft. Collins in mid-August. We’re soaking up every precious minute. And, Blueberry believes that Waffles and his posse plus (plus = girls) are his pals.  The thing is, they are. They slow down, play cars, kick soccer balls, walk through the woods, and offer up a few snuggles. Yesterday Creme de Brule was here for most of the day and Blueberry knew just what to do …. she was a great early morning snuggler (Waffles and Creme de Brule  had been to deliver a friend to the airport for an early morning CA nanny send 0ff – they’re like that).  Sesame Street always plays better in a lap, right?

Twinkletoes is here all summer working at a lab. She was awarded a prestigious summer research scholarship. We are so proud of her. She gets on the bus at 7:30 every morning and returns at the dinner hour (how nice that Mom has dinner ready all.summer.long).  But really, she and her sweetie, Clementine, are favored evening playmates.  Twinkletoes is our routine/regular/rhythm where everyone else comes and goes on a more chaotic summer schedule. Blueberry needs her constant and dependable presence. Clementine, working a really intense summer roofing schedule, is typically a evening visitor – just in time for a few pre-bed tickles and rough housing. Clem has been our ‘goto’ helper for as long as Blue has been entrusted to our family, and Blue treats him like a biggie brother. And visa-versa. We love to witness their friendship, even if it means Blue knows who Perry the Platypus is ….. Phinneus and Ferb – really? (Is that how you spell it?)   Mr. Silly Pants and I look to these two biggies to help us squeeze in some evening minutes of tennis, too. We have to work on bits of balance too, and Clem and Twinkletoes sometimes meet that need for us.

We miss our sweet Songbird a ton. She’s in Ecuador – working for Amigos. She writes from Ecuador during her first week: “My week started out with a community visit. Last year as supervisor I traveled every week to the same four communities, this time I got to visit a new community. Because I had no idea where it was I had to ask a few people in the bus terminal which bus to take to get me there – eventually I figured it out and some school-kids on the bus helped me out by telling me the actual bus fare and where to get off the bus. From there it was a 10 minute ride in the back of a pick-up truck with the wind blowing (and rainclouds hovering around that opened up mid-travel) through a series of flower plantations. We arrived at the centro or center of town, which consisted of a small store, a school, and a small medical facility. There I hopped off the truck, paid my 35 cents and started looking for the house I was supposed to visit. I found it eventually (after accidentally wandering into the clinic). Unfortunately the young woman who wanted to apply as a volunteer was not home so I talked a bit with her mom, left the application and a guide for her family and headed back to Latacunga in  a hot sweaty bus playing a strange French film.”  She tells us that during her second week the program supervisors arrived. She showed them around town and then says about her budget keeping skills (which is her job this year) “I am now more informed about what kinds of things we are doing and my responsibilities as budget keeper. My budget balanced out perfectly this week – to the penny (I hope its like that every week!). I also delivered a HUGE deposit to a local hotel reserving rooms and space for AMIGOS training directors, who will visit our project mid-July. I have never carried so much cash on my person and I was quite relived to hand it over to the hotel.”  We seriously cannot WAIT for pictures. 

Blueberry thinks Songbird is at college. He tells me she’s at “Bewoit. In cowege.” It makes sense since this is where she usually is when she isn’t here. One thing I learned is that because he didn’t see her leave the airport (it was a 6 a.m. departure and I didn’t take him), then he doesn’t really believe she’s anywhere other than “Bewoit.”  Imagine if your life was one of two possibilities – home or Beloit. Yeah….scary.

Our summer has started off with damn good fun. I’m posting a picture a day on my facebook page to sort of sum up our days and remind me to stay focused and present. The biggies help this along – they keep me in full swing of family life. I can’t say that I’d wish the loads of dishes and constantly emptied refrigerator on any of you, but I think every 3 year old kiddo should have a bevy of biggies.

I love bat boy and his biggies.

2 responses to “Bat Boy and his Biggies

  1. Love hearing this stuff. Your house feels like community and love, which of course I would think it would:) Plus, it makes me look forward to the same at mine as the kids grow.

  2. I too loved meeting you at the Mehaber. You are as cute in person as you are on your blog:)

Leave a Reply

